Georges Méliès by Renato Carvillani, 1951

George Melies 3D scanned 3D printed by Cosmo Wenman

Left: the original bronze bust marking Méliès’ grave at Père Lachaise cemetery. Right: my 3D print.

I’m sharing this 3D printable scan of Georges Méliès to thank everyone who has supported my ongoing Kickstarter campaign, Through a Scanner, Skulpturhalle.

If you’re already a backer, Thanks! Thanks for your support, and for helping spread the word. With your help, the project has started to get some good press coverage. It was picked up on the very highly read Very Short List: 3D Printing. It’s Getting Real, Folks It was also covered in this piece in The Atlantic Cities, Art Museums Better Hurry Up and Get Ready for the Future of 3D Printing which is a pretty accessible intro for the uninitiated. It’d make for a good article to pass along to others, if you were so inclined…

If you haven’t heard of my project: My Kickstarter will suport me travelling to the Skulpturhalle Basel museum in Switzerland to 3D scan a collection of plaster casts of ancient Greek and Roman sculptures. Then I’ll edit them for 3D printability and share it all here on Thingiverse. If you like the models I’ve scanned and shared so far, and want to help me keep at it, please consider supporting my project, and tell others about it. Please take a look at the project site: http://ThroughAScanner.com

But for now, here’s another printable scan for you while we wait–and hope–for the Skulpturhalle project to materialize.

Georges Méliès by Renato Carvillani, 1951

20130617 GeorgeMelies Tansition Data to Plastic to Bronzed

I scanned several graves in Père Lachaise cemetery, Paris, in October, 2012. There are so many incredible sculptures to choose from there, monuments to incredible people. This one is special. It’s the verdigris bronze bust by Renato Carvillani that graces the grave of French illusionist and cinematography pioneer Georges Méliès–the father of special effects and science fiction movies. It seems fitting to render him in a new medium. Fitting too, to do it for you, for people who see that medium’s potential. I hope you like it.

I’ll continue to try to process and publish more scans I’ve already done elsewhere and at other museums while the Skulpturhalle Kickstarter is still running, to make my “updates” worth your time. (Ever seen a Kickstarter start delivering stuff to backers during the fundraising stage? Alert the media!)

Thanks,
-Cosmo

On Wikipedia:

Georges Melies: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Georges_M%C3%A9li%C3%A8s

I’ve uploaded a bunch of printable files which you can download here: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:104852

