Photos for CNN

3D printing is already starting to give people new ways to access the world’s back catalog of sculptural masterpieces. And the best part is that people will be able to remix that artwork in new, unpredictable ways. Will it show up in plastic, pixels, in our clothes, or embedded in our architecture? There’s no telling, but this technological moment will reverberate in our art for thousands of years.

Photo my most recent work: the first-ever publicly available 3D surveys of the two most famous sculptures in the world, the Venus de Milo and the Winged Victory of Samothrace, now freely downloadable and 3D printable:

I just published Venus de Milo a couple days ago, and it’s already been downloaded more than 4,000 times. Winged Victory will be published in about an hour. Venus is here: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:196037 Before a few days ago, you’d have to go to the Louvre to see these. Now you can 3D print your own at home.

My 3D captured, 3D printed, bronze-cast copy of Henri Matisse’s bronze Back I:

Shown here at the entrance of the Louvre:

Henry Matisse Back I 3D captured and 3D printed by Cosmo Wenman

Shown next to the original at UCLA where I 3D captured it:

Henri Matisse Back I at UCLA 3D captured and 3D printed by Cosmo Wenman

A complete set of Matisse’s bronze “Back” series goes for about $120 million.

I just sold the copy in the photo–the very first 3D printed copy of it ever–to a tech entrepreneur and art collector (I’m waiting to hear back if I can tell you who it is, but you’ll recognize the name). Now that I found that sponsor for this piece, I’ll share the design and anyone will be able to print their own.

Please credit Cosmo Wenman (and http://www.CosmoWenman.com where possible, (not the wordpress url)).

video:

blank100x100

blank100x100

Eric Gill Ecstasy by Cosmo Wenman (large, close crop)

